Wonder

81zdsfzjh2bl

“She bent down and whispered in my ear. “You really are a wonder, Auggie. You are a wonder.”

I closed the book. Something uplifting and heart-warming has entered me. The feeling that your heart is soft enough to absorb something beautiful and pure, again.

I love this feeling, I wish it will never leave. The book is simple, its story is touching, true, multi-dimensional, and all in all is about each of us, but none of us, I hope, because August is such a special little boy. His story may not be 100% relate-able to every single human out there, but nonetheless we may all, at one point or another, have been featured in his world, through Jack, or Summer, or perhaps Amos, or Julian.

Once again, I’m reminded of something dad said, after weeks of reading about the beauty of the universe. I remember he was being super-hyped over space-time and other complex physics theories that I could not just simply wrap my head around. After several days of in-depth ‘internet researches’, he told me and mom something nice and simple: “Truth is always beautiful, and simple”. He intrigued us, asking whether we know who said such a thing. “no”. “A mathematician, a scientist”.

Ok, I might not have the brain these days to do a further research into the name of such wise scientist. Recently I have lost my enthusiast to seek a singular ‘something’ in anything, especially when it does not matter.

But when he said that, I just instinctively nodded, not because it came out of dad’s mouth, but simply because it made sense, and therefore I don’t really care if it was a Einstein or a Hawking who said it – it does not matter. I agreed. Somewhere in my fuzzy brain, that statement, though not clearly shaped in any color or form, or words, has taken its roots, for a time.

Truth is always beautiful, and simple.

That is what I feel when reading Wonder. I don’t want to spoil anything because you might be a wanderer who happens to know about this book and as a result curious to find out. But just know that it is worth a read, for it has done something beautiful and simple to me. Only after reading it did I realize how much I missed my old simple self. Growing up is inevitable, I know. But somewhere, somehow, if I could revive a younger heart and feel its beatings for a few seconds, it makes me forget all the bitterness or pain or darkness that I have come to learn about the world, and just let it go. For a few precious seconds, I felt like nothing dark could come back and occupy my memory again, they have been locked up and weakened by this simple and beautiful story.

And I just want to remind myself several things in this book:

“When given the choice between being right or being kind, choose kind” – Dr. Wayne W. Dyer

 

“Shall we make a new rule of life… always to try to be a little kinder than is necessary?” – J.M. Barrie

Leave a Reply

